Why is intelligent supplier management so important?

Why is intelligent supplier management so important?

Especially with a large supplier base, many different purchased parts and complex production processes, it is enormously important to maintain an overview. Intelligent supplier management mapped directly in the ERP can help to monitor all order processes and the associated invoicing and significantly simplify the workload of the specialist departments.

The data available in an ERP system increases considerably over time: The master data for materials and suppliers naturally grows with the developments in the company. In addition, it is becoming more and more important to know in which form the cooperation with which suppliers takes place. What is the quality of the goods? How is the delivery reliability? Which supplier has proven itself over the last few years, which one has perhaps not even reached agreements? 

and put the process at risk? Knowing which supplier delivers which component at which conditions is also a real competitive advantage.

Intelligent supplier management creates transparency

For these reasons, the importance of intelligent supplier management that can quickly and accurately provide answers to these questions has grown in recent years. The importance of IT has also increased in equal measure: Linking data between customers and suppliers has become just as important as internal analysis.

And this is not just a "gut feeling": In 2019, the BME (Barometer Electronic Procurement) was able to find out through a survey that the digitalization of traditional procurement processes is increasingly taking hold in all companies. The survey aimed to investigate the current state of digitalization as well as future developments in selected areas of purchasing and supply chain management. Particularly interesting among the 

Results: Supplier management tools clearly top the list of investments, with 92.4% of respondents across all industries seeing the use of intelligent supplier management solutions as imperative.

Important advantages of intelligent supplier management

Evaluating suppliers, identifying duplicate data sets and networking one's own material groups are sometimes significant advantages that intelligent supplier management brings with it.

1. the possibility of supplier evaluation

If you have been able to gain experience with some suppliers in the course of time, you can draw conclusions about the quality of the supplier relationship according to internal ideas. These can be mapped quite simply on the basis of evaluations that rank the supplier within the system. These intelligent evaluation mechanisms are not only important for ranking the supplier, but also for creating transparency.

The options for evaluation can be defined by the user: Using the app, evaluations can be carried out quickly and easily based on questionnaire-supported processes. This is easy and quick to implement and makes the supplier transparent across departments. Weightings within the evaluation criteria are also possible, so that the results can also be compared with each other on an extended level.

For example, CLC has been awarded a contract by a major municipal energy supplier for a App-based Supplier evaluation implemented in SAP ERP. Project manager Cedric Schonard is convinced that the app reliably provides an overview of supplier evaluations. In preparation for the implementation phase

could the The client had to define the criteria that were important to him in advance. These included the following questions, among others:

  • How was the project overall?
  • How was the coordination with the supplier?
  • How was the quality of the delivery?
  • Were reliable deliveries made and statements kept?

2. the identification of duplicates

As the number of order processes increases, it can happen that suppliers are unintentionally created twice in the system. Sometimes there is not enough time when an order has to be created quickly or the unintentional duplication happens for another reason. As part of intelligent supplier management, it is possible to identify duplicate supplier master data and either delete or cleanse it. If duplicates are identified during an ongoing project, these findings can also be collected and later purged in total.

Duplicate master records not only result in significant additional work in the work processes - good data quality also supports smooth, digitized and thus cost-saving invoicing and compliance. Thus, "clean" master data is also of enormous importance for financial accounting.

For example, CLC was able to identify duplicates and clean up the master data for a well-known automotive supplier in the course of a customer project using a multi-stage approval process. "Such an approval process involves all the departments that are involved with the

Expert contact


Our CLC experts have extensive experience in various industries. We would be happy to provide you with a free initial consultation.

 vendors in the system. A detailed check is performed to determine whether the duplicate may be deleted. If this is the case, the data records are removed in a controlled manner, thus significantly increasing the data quality in the ERP again," says Schonard.

3. networking via product groups

The fact that strategic supplier management also enables allocation via material groups makes the purchasing process even easier. This not only applies to the search for a suitable replacement supplier if the usual supplier is not able to deliver the goods, but also significantly supports the supplier search for new products and material groups.


Don't miss a thing: The CLC News on interesting SAP topics!  Register now


The existence of existing and current contracts can also be checked here, as optimization potential is often wasted here. If the conditions of the previous supplier are significantly more expensive than those of a comparable supplier, savings opportunities can be quickly identified here.

During the support of the large municipal energy supplier, the importance of the networked product groups became apparent in practice. "During the planning for a road construction project, the supplier network was so busy at a certain point that it was no longer possible to work with the regular suppliers," Schonard recounts. Thanks to the digital supplier file, however, the company was able to quickly switch to an alternative supplier without jeopardizing the planned start of construction.


We will gladly advise you!

Is intelligent supplier management also an interesting topic for you? Contact our CLC experts, who will be happy to help you with their many years of experience!

Further information

SAP-based control of complex procurement processes? No problem!


image_pdfDownload page as PDF
25 November 2021
Virtual

Interregional Job Fair of the Greater Region

Find out about the career opportunities at CLC xinteg and exchange ideas with our colleagues from SAP development, IT specialist for application development or ASW business IT specialists.

Recent Posts

Subscribe to our newsletter

By subscribing to the newsletter I agree to the Privacy policy to.

Warum ist ein intelligentes Lieferantenmanagement so wichtig?

Warum ist ein intelligentes Lieferantenmanagement so wichtig?

Besonders bei einem großen Lieferantenstamm, vielen verschiedenen Zukaufteilen und komplexen Produktionsvorgängen ist es enorm wichtig, den Überblick zu behalten. Ein direkt im ERP abgebildetes intelligentes Lieferantenmanagement kann dabei helfen, sämtliche Bestellvorgänge und zugehörige Rechnungsstellungen zu überwachen und den Arbeitsaufwand der Fachbereiche erheblich zu erleichtern.

Die in einem ERP-System vorhandenen Daten nehmen im Laufe der Zeit erheblich zu: Die Stammdaten bei Materialen und Lieferanten wachsen durch die Entwicklungen im Unternehmen selbstverständlich mit. Zusätzlich wird das Wissen immer wichtiger, in welcher Form mit welchen Lieferanten zusammengearbeitet wird. Wie ist die Qualität der Ware? Wie steht es um die Lieferzuverlässigkeit? Welcher Lieferant hat sich in den letzten Jahren bewährt, welcher hat vielleicht sogar Vereinbarungen nicht 

eingehalten und den Prozess gefährdet? Zu wissen, welcher Lieferant welches Bauteil zu welchen Konditionen liefert, ist darüber hinaus auch noch ein echter Wettbewerbsvorteil.

Ein intelligentes Lieferantenmanagement schafft Transparenz

Aus diesen Gründen wuchs in den letzten Jahren die Bedeutung eines intelligenten Lieferantenmanagements, das auf diese Fragestellungen schnell und zielsicher Antworten liefern kann. Die Wichtigkeit der IT hat zudem gleichbedeutend zugenommen: Die Verknüpfung von Daten zwischen Kunden und Zulieferer ist genauso wichtig geworden wie die interne Analyse.

Und dies ist nicht nur ein „Bauchgefühl“: Das BME (Barometer Elektronische Beschaffung) hat im Jahr 2019 durch eine Umfrage herausfinden können, dass die Digitalisierung der klassischen Beschaffungsprozesse in sämtlichen Unternehmen verstärkt Einzug hält. Die Umfrage hatte zum Ziel, den aktuellen Stand der Digitalisierung sowie zukünftige Entwicklungen in ausgewählten Bereichen des Einkaufs und des Supply Chain Managements zu untersuchen. Besonders interessant bei den 

Ergebnissen: Deutlich an der ersten Stelle bei den Investitionen stehen Tools für das Lieferantenmanagement, 92,4% der Befragten aus sämtlichen Branchen sehen den Einsatz von intelligenten Lösungen für das Lieferantenmanagement als zwingend notwendig an.

Wichtige Vorteile eines intelligenten Lieferantenmanagements

Lieferanten zu bewerten, doppelte Datensätze zu ermitteln und die eigenen Warengruppen zu vernetzen sind mitunter bedeutende Vorteile, die ein intelligentes Lieferantenmanagement mit sich bringt.

1. Die Möglichkeit der Lieferantenbewertung

Hat man nun im Verlauf mit einigen Lieferanten Erfahrungen sammeln können, lassen sich nach internen Vorstellungen Rückschlüsse auf die Qualität der Lieferantenbeziehung ziehen. Abbilden lassen sich diese ganz einfach anhand von Bewertungen, die den Lieferanten innerhalb des Systems ranken. Diese intelligenten Bewertungsmechanismen sind nicht nur wichtig, um den Lieferanten einzuordnen, sondern auch um Transparenz zu schaffen.

Die Möglichkeiten zur Bewertung sind dabei selbst definierbar: Per App lassen sich anhand fragebogengestützter Prozesse simpel und schnell Bewertungen durchführen. Das ist einfach und schnell realisierbar und macht den Lieferanten Abteilungsübergreifend transparent. Auch Gewichtungen innerhalb der Bewertungskriterien sind möglich, sodass die Ergebnisse auch untereinander noch einmal auf einem erweiterten Niveau verglichen werden können.

So hat CLC zum Beispiel bei einem großen städtischen Energieversorger eine App-basierte Lieferantenbewertung im SAP-ERP implementiert. Projektleiter Cedric Schonard ist überzeugt, dass die App zuverlässig einen Überblick über die Lieferantenauswertungen liefert. In Vorbereitung auf die Implementierungsphase

konnte der Auftraggeber die für ihn wichtigen Kriterien selbst im Vorfeld definieren. Darunter fielen unter anderem folgende Fragen:

  • Wie war der Projektverlauf insgesamt?
  • Wie war die Abstimmung mit dem Lieferanten?
  • Wie war die Qualität der Belieferung?
  • Wurde zuverlässig geliefert und Aussagen eingehalten?

2. Die Ermittlung von Dubletten

Mit steigender Anzahl an Auftragsabwicklungen kann der Fall eintreten, dass Lieferanten unbeabsichtigt doppelt im System angelegt werden. Manchmal fehlt es an der Zeit, wenn schnell ein Auftrag angelegt werden muss oder die ungewollte Doppelung geschieht aus einem anderen Grund. Im Zuge eines intelligenten Lieferantenmanagement ist es möglich, doppelte Lieferantenstammdaten zu ermitteln und diese entweder zu löschen oder zu bereinigen. Werden Dubletten während eines laufenden Projektes identifiziert, können diese Erkenntnisse auch gesammelt und später in Summe bereinigt werden.

Doppelte Stammsätze sorgen nicht nur für deutliche Mehraufwände in den Arbeitsprozessen – eine gute Datenqualität unterstützt zudem die reibungslose, digitalisierte und somit auch kostensparende Rechnungsstellung und Compliance. Somit sind „saubere“ Stammdaten auch für die Finanzbuchhaltung von enormer Wichtigkeit.

So konnte CLC bei einem namhaften Automobilzulieferer im Verlauf eines Kundenprojektes die Dubletten über einen mehrstufigen Genehmigungsprozess ermitteln und die Stammdaten bereinigen. „Solch ein Genehmigungsprozess beteiligt sämtliche Abteilungen, die mit dem

Expertenkontakt


Unsere CLC-Experten verfügen über umfangreiche Erfahrung in diversen Branchen. Gerne stehen wir Ihnen zu einem kostenlosen Erstgespräch zur Verfügung.

 Lieferanten im System arbeiten. Hierbei wird detailliert geprüft, ob die Dublette gelöscht werden darf. Ist das der Fall, werden die Datensätze kontrolliert entfernt und somit die Datenqualität im ERP wieder erheblich gesteigert“, so Schonard.

3. Vernetzung über Warengruppen

Dass durch ein strategisches Lieferantenmanagement auch die Zuordnung über Warengruppen möglich wird, macht es den Einkaufsprozess noch einmal deutlich einfacher. Das betrifft nicht nur die Suche eines geeigneten Ersatzlieferanten, wenn der gewohnte Zulieferer nicht in der Lage ist, die Ware zu liefern, sondern unterstützt auch die Lieferantensuche für neue Produkte und Warengruppe erheblich.


Nichts mehr verpassen: Die CLC-News zu interessanten SAP-Themen!  Jetzt anmelden


Auch die Existenz von bestehenden und laufenden Verträgen kann hierbei überprüft werden, da hier oftmals Optimierungspotential verschenkt wird. Sind die Konditionen des bisherigen Lieferanten deutlich teurer als die eines vergleichbaren Zulieferers, lassen sich hier schnell Einsparmöglichkeiten ermitteln.

Während der Betreuung des großen städtischen Energieversorgers wurde die Wichtigkeit der vernetzten Warengruppen in der Praxis ersichtlich. „Bei der Planung für ein Straßenbauprojekt war zu einem bestimmten Zeitpunkt das Lieferantennetz so ausgelastet, dass nicht mehr mit den Stammlieferanten gearbeitet werden konnte“, erzählt Schonard. Durch die digitale Lieferantenakte konnte das Unternehmen jedoch zügig auf einen alternativen Lieferanten umschwenken, ohne den geplanten Baustart zu gefährden.


Wir beraten Sie gerne!

Intelligentes Lieferantenmanagement ist auch für Sie ein interessantes Thema? Kontaktieren Sie gerne unsere CLC Experten, die Ihnen gerne mit ihrer langjährigen Erfahrungen weiterhelfen!

Weiterführende Informationen

Komplexe Beschaffungsprozesse SAP-basiert steuern? Kein Problem!


image_pdfSeite als PDF herunterladen
18. September 2020
Virtuell

Webinar: Simplify SAP EH&S

Ohne zusätzliche Datenpflege und Aufwände ermöglicht Ihnen unsere Add-on-Lösung CLC-PADD® „Produktakte“ den Zugriff auf alle Produktdaten in einem Tool.

Neueste Beiträge

Abonniere unseren Newsletter

Bei der Anmeldung zum Newsletter stimme ich den Datenschutzbedingungen zu.